For those of you who don’t know, Me-Made-May is a challenge run by sewing blogger Zoe, which aims to get people who knit, sew or upcycle clothes to wear their own creations during the month of May. Everyone who signs up sets their own challenge, and most people share their experiences, and sometimes photos of their outfits, on their blogs and social media. You can find out how to sign up here.

I think the challenge is a great idea. I always feel very proud when I’ve made something new, but I do still feel a little bit self-conscious about wearing my own creations, because people tend to comment on them (mostly because I usually choose unusual print fabric!). Plus, there’s the issue that I know all the little things I botched while I was making it, like a wonky hem or a slightly less-than-perfect zip, and those things are always on my mind when I’m wearing something. Anything that gets me more used to wearing my own creations can only be a good thing.

I wanted to take part in Me-Made May last year, but because I had a two-week holiday booked for May, I decided it wasn’t going to be possible, and that I’d do it this year instead.

Then I booked a holiday for May this year too, so it looked like I would have to postpone for another year, but I’m determined not to let it stop me in 2016.

I’m going on a European World War II road trip with my best friend for two weeks in the middle of May. We’re huge Band of Brothers fans, so we’re going to be visiting some of the places connected with the real soldiers behind the story of Band of Brothers. We’ll be visiting France, the Netherlands, Belgium, Luxembourg, Germany and Austria, and we’ll be camping for the most part, so it’s not exactly the most practical setting for wearing my me-made wardrobe, most of which is dresses and skirts I wear to work.

So, I’ve had to tailor my pledge a bit more specifically to allow me to take part:

I, Lindsey of Squeakythepin.wordpress.com (Twitter: @squeaky_the_pin, Instagram: squeakythepin), sign up as a participant of Me-Made-May ’16. I endeavour to wear one me-made garment each day for the duration of May 2016 while I am at home in England, and as many as I can practically manage while I am zooming around on a European road trip with my best friend for two weeks in the middle of the month!

There are a few things I can easily see me wearing on our trip, particularly a warm jumper I knitted, and a corduroy skirt I made, which tends not to crease. I may pack a couple of the cotton dresses I made in case we go out for a meal, and maybe a top too. Other than that, I think I’m going to be mostly slobbing around in leggings and T-shirts! I will definitely do my best to wear something every day for the rest of the month though.

I will try to make a blog post or two about how I get on once May arrives!

